how to install the scrobbler on ubuntu :S

• how to install the scrobbler on ubuntu :S

Hi, I'm new to last.fm and linux(ubuntu)....i've used windows before and i knew how to do this....
    I've googled "how to install scrobbler on linux" but i couldn't even understand the first step :S
    it said to untar the source....i have no idea what that means :S
    can someone PLEASE tell me a step by step how to install scrobbler :S

• Well, first of all what music player are you using? I know for a fact that Quodlibet has a built-in plugin for it, and I'm pretty sure Rhythmbox and Banshee do as well.

• fteo disse...
    • Usuário
    • Nov 9 2011, 23h43
    The first thing to do to make your life easier is to always check in the software center. This way not only you can install your software quickly, but recieve updates for it as well. One more tip to avoid hassle, is that in case the software you're looking for is not available in the Ubuntu Software Center, to prefer .deb packages instead of the source and generic binary files, usually in .tar.gz form. .deb packages can be easily installed with a double click. I think that last.fm scrobbler is available in the Soft. Center, but you only need it in Ubuntu to listen to last.fm radio. In order to scrobble the tracks you are currently listening in your media player you need to just insert your last.fm username and password. Every media player I've tried (that is a LOT of them) has that function.

• flueedo disse...
    • Usuário
    • Nov 13 2011, 23h23
    Guys, she's completely new to Ubuntu. And as it seems to Linux in general.

@versatility-, unlike Windows, you have to set up the scrobbling for each player you might be using.

First thing, do you know which version of Ubuntu you're using? Is it the latest (11.10 oneiric ocelot) or any of the previous ones?

You tell us that and we guide you from there.